by Mikhail Flores

Antoinette Noore Aquino finishes the butterly stroke of the 400m medley. The UP Women's Varsity Swim Team beat a 42-year-old record medley record during the finals of the 74th UAAP swimming competition held at TRACE Aquatic Sports Complex in Laguna. JOSHUA MARK DALUPANG

LOS BAÑOS, LAGUNA – The University of the Philippines Swim Team swam its way to its third  championship in a row to continue its domination in the women’s division of the UAAP Season 74 Swimming Championship at the Trace Aquatics Center here Sunday.

UP finished with 316 points while Ateneo de Manila University placed second with 216 points. De La Salle wound up third with 159 points.

“We worked hard. We tried our best,” said UP Varsity Swim Team Coach Noel Rivera.

This is the third time UP won three titles in a row in the UAAP swimming history, clinching it in 1964 to 1966, 1993 to 1995 and 1997 to 1999. UP has 17 titles overall.

UP also broke a 42 year-old UAAP record in the Women’s 400m Medley Event. The quartet of Aphrodite Magbanlac, Antoinette Aquino, Tiara Beboney Tudio and Christine Grace Hipol finished the event at 4:42.55, seven seconds faster than the UAAP record set by Far Eastern University in 1969.

“I am thankful I was part of the team which broke the record. It’s a once-in-a-lifetime opportunity,” Magbanlac said.

The swim team of UP Integrated School also placed third in the Girls Division. Priscila Loren Aquino was named Rookie of the Year after scoring 25 points in the competition.

Meanwhile, the Men’s Swim Team failed to defend their title, struggling to find its form throughout the competition. De La Salle captured its second crown in three years with 262 points, while University of Santo Tomas finished second with 201 points and Ateneo landed third with 135 points.

[nggallery id=40]


Subscribe now to our newsletter

By checking this box, you confirm that you have read and are agreeing to our terms of use regarding the storage of the data submitted through this form.

%d bloggers like this: