By Alyssa Jose

The College Student Electoral Board (CSEB) released Thursday the first official list of candidates for this year’s College of Mass Communication Student Council (CMCSC) elections. Incumbent Secretary Mari Angelyn Arambulo is local party Interdependent Student-centered Activism (ISA)’s bet for chairperson. She is up against Beata Regina Carolino from the local arm of the university-wide Student Alliance for the Advancement of Democratic Rights in UP (STAND UP).

For vice chairperson, STAND UP’s bet Marie Pauline Requesto is running against ISA’s Simone Martine Marie Dimalibot. ISA’s Edmer Maguan and Ma. Ria Bernadette Tagle are running as secretary and treasurer, respectively, against STAND UP’s Jean Cheryl Tagyamon and Maria Almira Abril. Tagle is an incumbent CMCSC Broadcast Communication Representative while Tagyamon is an incumbent Film Representative.

John Benedict Opinion of STAND UP faces Gabriel Abeleda of ISA as the CMC representative to the University Student Council. ISA’s Kenneth James Whelheem Gasara and Raphael Louis Hipos are running as Broadcast Communication Representatives versus STAND UP’s Kris Ciel Enriquez and Mary Christine Sacay. Gelina Rose Bongon and Justine Alyssa Siscar of STAND UP will be going against ISA’s Ivy Dianne Olivan and John Dominic Rodriguez to be the next Communication Research Representatives.

Running for Film Representatives is STAND UP’s lone candidate Josiah Gil Hiponia against ISA’s Patricia Denise Singson and Edsel Brady Uy. ISA’s Justine Anjanique Jordan and Matthew Samuel Reysio-Cruz and STAND UP’s Dale Calanog and Patricia Isabel Gloria are eyeing the post of Journalism Representatives.

The CSEB is a five-unit body chaired by College Secretary Randy Jay Solis. Members of the Board from the CMC faculty are Professor Evelyn Katigbak from the Department of Journalism and Dr. Eulalio Guieb III from the Department of Broadcast Communication. Arianne Esguerra from the Department of Broadcast Communication and Jason Mercene from the Department of Communication Research are the student representatives.

The release of the final official list of candidates is on February 12, the start of the official campaign period. Elections are set on February 27.

(Editor’s note: Candidates who are part of the Tinig ng Plaridel staff have been asked to file a leave of absence from their duties to the publication from Feb. 3 to 27. Carolino, Calanog, Gloria, Reysio-Cruz and Jordan have taken a temporary leave.)


Subscribe now to our newsletter

By checking this box, you confirm that you have read and are agreeing to our terms of use regarding the storage of the data submitted through this form.

%d bloggers like this: