By Pathricia Ann Roxas

Updated on March 20, 10 p.m.

The Initiative for Genuine Involvement, Transparency and Empowerment (IGNITE) party dominated 2014 National College of Public Administration and Governance (NCPAG) Student Council elections last February 27, clinching six out of 12 positions.

However, IGNITE’s Samantha Marie Contreras failed to claim the chairperson throne after garnering 133 votes against triumphant Janella Santiago of Practice of Administrative Leadership and Service (PALS) with 148 votes.

Katrina Villanueva of IGNITE won as vice chair with 147 votes against Mykell Jizen Reyes of PALS with 128 votes.

Juan Paolo Artiaga of IGNITE bagged the external affairs administrator seat with 140 and defeated PALS’ Xavier Venn Asuncion with 122 votes.

IGNITE finance administrator candidate Kathleen Joyce Ramos gained 142 votes and outsmarted PALS candidate Carl Bryan Manayan with 129 votes.

The new internal affairs administrator is Ernesto Urbano Jr. of IGNITE, after gaining 16 votes more than PALS’ Hannah Grace Vargas with 123 votes.

PALS’ Princess Bea Carreon and IGNITE’s Marielle Antonio had a close fight as the socio-academic affairs administrator after the latter gained 134 votes, and Antonio fell only one vote short against opponent. A total of 28 abstained to vote on the said position.

Kirtham Novreil Dumpa and Michelle Fellone from IGNITE topped the list of undergraduate councilors garnering 138 and 124 votes respectively. Two other undergraduate councilors came from PALS, namely Sarah Bianca Bilag with 114 votes and Sofronio Dulay with 92 votes.

Graduate councilor posts were won by Alcariza Peregrino from PALS with 40 votes, and Jinky Joy Dela Cruz, independent candidate, with 31 votes. Two out of the four graduate councilor seats remain vacant. According to the NCPAG College Student Electoral Board, special elections will be held in the first semester of the next academic year.

College representative independent candidate Jan Mikhail Solitario with 155 votes bested KAISA’s Pepito Dizon with 129 votes.

Recorded voter turnout is 50.95 percent, or 296 out of 581 registered voters, a slight increase from last year’s 43 percent. Thirty-seven voters voted manually. Voting was delayed due to students’ names not found on the list, but resumed at around 11:30 a.m. Technical glitches caused voting hours extended until 8 p.m.



Subscribe now to our newsletter

By checking this box, you confirm that you have read and are agreeing to our terms of use regarding the storage of the data submitted through this form.

%d bloggers like this: