by Claudine Complativo

For the 22nd consecutive year, BUKLOD CSSP will again lead the College of Social Sciences and Philosophy Student Council (CSSP-SC) as they secured 16 out of 18 seats with all the top posts in the election held February 27.

Incumbent CSSP councilor Ed Laurenz Noveloso clinched the Chairman post with 674 votes, surpassing Saligan sa CSSP’s bet and incumbent Sociology Department Representative Jilianne Paula Ampog who had 308 votes.

BUKLOD CSSP, a party affiliated with the university-wide political party Alyansa ng mga Mag-aaral para sa Panlipunang Katwiran at Kaunlaran (ALYANSA), also sealed the Vice-Chairperson post with unopposed candidate Patricia Mae Peralta with 748 votes.

Allan Pangilinan is the next CSSP representative to the University Student Council after garnering 513 votes, enough to beat Saligan sa CSSP’s Garret Paris and Nagkakaisang Iskolar Para sa Pamantasan at Sambayanan’s (KAISA) John Arvin Buenaagua with 235 and 211 votes, respectively.

Buenaagua was the only candidate fielded by KAISA.

All eight councilor posts will be field by BUKLOD CSSP candidates as Saligan sa CSSP’s five contenders and two independent candidates failed to secure enough votes enough to win. Saligan sa CSSP is affiliated with the Student Alliance for the Advancement of Democratic Rights in UP (STAND UP).

Tiara Maria Malit topped the councilor polls with 597 votes while Jairus Espiritu and Jofer Asilum ranked second and third with 573 and 515 votes, respectively.

Saligan sa CSSP only clinched two department representative positions with Geography Department Allaysa May Nepomuceno and Political Science Department Marielle Marcaida.

Unopposed Nepomuceno garnered 47 votes, one vote short to tie with the 48 students who voted abstain. Marcaida, on the other hand, bested Kenneth Geolina by 12 votes.

The other five departments, Linguistics, History, Philosophy, Psychology, and Sociology, will be led by BUKLOD CSSP candidates.

Both parties, however, failed to field candidates for the Anthropology Department Representative post. The position will then filled be via appointment by the next CSSP SC, said the college’s Office Student Affairs Coordinator Prof. Jerwin Agpaoa.

CSSP recorded a 52.27 percent voter turnout as 1095 out of 2095 registered voters cast their votes in the CSSP and Palma Hall Annex’ computer laboratories. 

Below is the list of the candidates and their corresponding votes garnered:




Subscribe now to our newsletter

By checking this box, you confirm that you have read and are agreeing to our terms of use regarding the storage of the data submitted through this form.

%d bloggers like this: