by Roleen Delos Reyes

Updated and corrected, March 3, 1:41 pm

The next Engineering Student Council (ESC) will be led by UP Alliance for Responsive Involvement and Student Empowerment (UP ARISE) standard bearer and chairperson-elect April Rose Ramos. However, it will be dominated by the Progressive Responsive Innovative Movement in Engineering (PRIME), who garnered 27 out of 47 seats in Thursday’s elections.

Following them closely is UP ARISE, who is affiliated with UP Alyansa ng mga Mag-aaral para sa Panlipunang Katwiran at Kaunlaran (ALYANSA) with 21 seats. UP Frontrunners of a Responsive and Responsible College of Engineering (UP FORCE) won two seats.


Ramos was unopposed and garnered 1718 votes, winning over the 1168 abstain votes. The next ESC Vice chairperson, PRIME’s Jesus Lorenzo Guerrero, garnered 1439 votes, prevailing over Katriel Gail Sadorra of ARISE who had 998 votes.

The ESC college representatives to the University Student Council (USC) are ALYANSA’s Leo Lobigan and KAISA’s Cheryl Siy with a total of 1258 and 869 votes respectively.

Four out of the five ESC councilor winners came from PRIME, while ARISE took one spot.

FORCE took the number one spot in the five Chemical Engineering (ChE) representative seats while the four other winners came from PRIME.

Five out of the next six Civil Engineering (CE) representatives are from PRIME, with the top post going to ARISE. PRIME took the number one spot for the three Computer Science (CS) representative seats, with ARISE winning the last two seats.

With 10 alloted seats, all 10 Electrical and Electronics Engineering (EEE) candidates were elected. ARISE topped the list and won four seats. Six seats went to PRIME.

FORCE and ARISE split the two posts for the Geodetic Engineering (GE) Department Representatives. The Industrial Engineering (IE) Department was also split, this time by ARISE and PRIME, with two seats each.

The Mechanical Engineering (ME) Department’s next representatives are from ARISE and PRIME. ARISE candidates were the top two in the ME Department while PRIME took the third spot.

There are five Mining, Metallurgical and Material (MMM) Engineering representatives. Three representatives-elect are from ARISE and two are from PRIME. ARISE also took the top spot in the MMM Department.


The National Graduate School of Engineering should have two representatives but there was only one candidate for these positions. The lone candidate from PRIME, Angel Gacutan, won with 24 votes, just one over the 23 abstain votes.


There were 2886 out of 5745 engineering students who voted, a 50.23 percent voters’ turnout. The students from Industrial Engineering department have the most voters with 76.7 percent while it was the Engineering graduate students that cast the least number of votes with 5.44 percent.
with reports from Raiza Javier



Subscribe now to our newsletter

By checking this box, you confirm that you have read and are agreeing to our terms of use regarding the storage of the data submitted through this form.

%d bloggers like this: