Nagkakaisang Iskolar para sa Pamantasan at Sambayanan (KAISA) dominated the University Student Council (USC) elections 2013, clinching the chair and vice chair positions and four of the 12 council seats—a first since the party’s establishment in 2005.

Alex Castro from KAISA won as the USC chairperson at 4944 votes. Student Alliance for the Advancement of Democratic Rights in UP (STAND UP) standard bearer Mijo Solis ranked next with 2804 votes, followed by Alyansa ng mga Mag-aaral para sa Panlipunang Katwiran at Kaunlaran (ALYANSA) candidate Carlo Brolagda with 2213 votes.

Castro broke the record of the highest number of votes garnered by a chairperson held also by KAISA’s Titus Tan with 4905 votes when he won in 2009.

INFOGRAPHIC: See how far Alex Castro’s lead over Mijo Solis was.

KAISA vice chairperson candidate Jules Guiang gained 3385 votes and bested STAND UP and ALYANSA candidates Kei Garcia and Alex Santos with 3319 and 3194 votes respectively.

Carla Gonzales from KAISA topped the list of USC councilors, garnering 3379 votes. Three other councilors came from KAISA, while STAND UP and ALYANSA each won five and three councilor seats respectively.

Eight out of the 20 college representatives to the USC also came from KAISA. ALYANSA got six seats while STAND UP won three seats. All three independent (unaffiliated with any of the three major political parties) candidates gained seats as the School of Economics, College of Law and College of Mass Communication representatives.

University Student Electoral Board recorded a 48.4 percent voter turnout, a slight decrease from last year’s 48.91 percent. Of the 23,232 voting population, only 11,245 voted on Thursday.



Ana Alexandra “Alex” Castro (KAISA) — 4944 votes

Jose Miguel “Mijo” Solis (STAND UP) — 2804 votes

Raphael Carlo “Carlo” Brolagda (ALYANSA) — 2213 votes

Abstain — 1284 votes


Julliano Fernando “Jules” Guiang (KAISA) — 3385 votes

Hannah Keila “Kei” Garcia (STAND UP) — 2804 votes

Alexandra Maria Francia “Alex” Santos (ALYANSA) — 2213 votes

Abtain — 1347 votes


  1. Carla Monica “Carla” Gonzales (KAISA) — 3379 votes
  2. Lemuel Christian “Lem” Magaling (STAND UP) — 3307 votes
  3. Raphael Aaron “Aaron” Letaba (ALYANSA) — 3081 votes
  4. Daniel “Dan” Guzman (KAISA) — 3022 votes
  5. Erra Mae “Erra” Zabat (STAND UP) — 2924 votes
  6. John Paulo “JP” delas Nieves (ALYANSA) — 2816 votes
  7. Charlotte “Cha” France (STAND UP) — 2807 votes
  8. Rafael Luis Rodolfo “Rafa” Fernando (KAISA) — 2794 votes
  9. Allyna-Haneefa “Neefa” Macapado (STAND UP) — 2752 votes
  10. Arjay “Arjay” Mercado (ALYANSA) — 2747 votes
  11. Mario Adrefanio “Aio” Santos (STAND UP) — 2714 votes
  12. Erica Camille “Erica” Lau (KAISA) — 2666 votes





Fenina Maria “Fen” De Leon (CBA)—455 votes

Shamah “Shamah” Bulangis (Educ)—167 votes

April Rose “April” Ramos (Eng’g)—1323 votes

Stefanie “Stef” Quintin (Music)—142 votes

Chris Erwin “Chris” Alquizalas (CSSP)—573 votes

Maria Angelica “Nelica” Rotoni (Stat)—219 votes


Ma. Ysabelle Clarisse Anne “Myca” S.M. Bonoan (AIT)—165 votes

Jose Ruel “Fab” Fabia (Archi)—221 votes

Daniel Raymond “Dan” Nieva (Eng’g)—954 votes

Carlo “Carlo” de Laza (CFA)—231 votes

Anna Alexa “Alexa” Nacional (CHE)—268 votes

Ma. Isabela “Isay” Aurellado (CHK)—180 votes

Ram Vincent “Ram” Tomaneng (CS)—508 votes

Francesca Anne Louise “Lui” Angeles (NCPAG)—144 votes


Ma. Aliona “Aliona” Silva (CAL)—261 votes

David “Dave” Terante (SLIS)—63 votes

Erika Isabel “Aika” Yague (CSWCD)—72 votes


Regine Beatrice “Reg” Rodriguez (Econ)—298 votes

John Paul “JP” Rotap (Law)—391 votes

Carla Patrice “Carla” Cucueco (CMC)—322 votes


Subscribe now to our newsletter

By checking this box, you confirm that you have read and are agreeing to our terms of use regarding the storage of the data submitted through this form.

%d bloggers like this: