The council has been split between ISA and STAND UP-CMC since ISA fieldedits first slate in 2007, with STAND UP-CMC getting at least one position more than the other every year. But in 2010, ISA gained the majority with eight seats against STAND UP-CMC’s six. This is the first time ISA gained all the executive committee positions in the council, composed of chairperson, vice chairperson, secretary and treasurer.

However, STAND UP-CMC still dominates over the department representatives, particularly the journalism representatives, which it has secured for the last four years. Over the years, broadcast communication (BC) representatives mostly come from ISA, while the positions for communication research representatives remain evenly split between the two parties.

Several candidates have returned for reelection. Karol Mark Yee (ISA), Marian Kris Santos (STAND UP-CMC), Rupert Francis Mangilit (STAND UP-CMC) and Sherwin Ian Su (ISA) all started with lower positions before running for chairperson. Erika Paola Migriño (ISA) lost in her first bid for BC representative in 2009, but was elected vice chairperson in 2010.

Some candidates were not as lucky. Anna Canlas won as secretary in 2007, but lost when she ran for chairperson in 2008. Others like Mark Aurelio Dantes (ISA), April Angela Nolasco (STAND UP-CMC) and Katherine Molina (STAND UP-CMC) all lost their two bids for CMCSC positions.

USC candidates

Other candidates also ran for the University Student Council (USC). Despite losing the local elections in 2007, Victor Lorenzo Villanueva (STAND UP-CMC) was elected number one councilor in 2008, and was also a nominee for Student Regent in 2009. Airah Cadiogan (STAND UP-CMC), who won as communication research representative in 2007, won as USC vice chairperson in 2008. However, she lost in 2009 when she ran for USC chairperson.

Other USC bidders were Jemimah Garcia and Marian Kris Santos, both from STAND UP-CMC. Garcia lost in her first bid for USC councilor in 2009, but won when she ran for the same position in 2010. Garcia is currently STAND-UP’s candidate for USC chairperson. Santos, then incumbent CMCSC chairperson, lost her councilor bid in 2009.


Subscribe now to our newsletter

By checking this box, you confirm that you have read and are agreeing to our terms of use regarding the storage of the data submitted through this form.

%d bloggers like this: