By Jhesset Enano and Alexandra Gabrielle Francisco

Council Composition: 8 Interdependent Student-Centered Activism (ISA), 6 Student Alliance for the Advancement of Democratic Rights in UP-CMC (STAND UP-CMC)

Chairperson: Sherwin Ian T. Su (ISA)

College Representative: Nigel Patrick M. Cornel (ISA)

2010 Voter Turn-Out: 59.5% (645 out of 1084)

2010 USC Chairperson: Rainier Astin A. Sindayen (STAND-UP)

Political Background:

STAND-UP traces its roots to the strife between clashing political views in the original Sandigan ng Mag-aaral para sa Sambayan. This lead to the splinter of the militant alliance SAMASA-Tunay, Militante at Makabayang Alyansa (SAMASA-TMMA) in the mid-90s. In 1996, the faction formed STAND-UP, with local parties in different UP Diliman colleges, including CMC. The party bore the principles originally carried by SAMASA when it was first formed—an emphasis on mass action and militancy in rallying for democratic rights of the masses alongside student demands.

In 2006, STAND UP-CMC met opposition when Karol Mark Yee ran for CMC representative as an independent and later on formed ISA (not to be confused with the now defunct university-wide party Independent Student Alliance). The following year, the party fielded a full slate with Yee as standard-bearer. ISA was recognized as an organization in 2008.

In last year’s CMCSC elections, ISA took the majority of positions from STAND UP-CMC, bannering a “student-centered form of leadership” and “alternative activism”. This year, the CMC vote will decide if ISA will maintain its winning streak or if STAND UP-CMC will regain its dominance.

Sources: Information from Joseph Cataan of STAND UP-CMC and Jose Carlos Soliongco of ISA,,, TNP archives


Subscribe now to our newsletter

By checking this box, you confirm that you have read and are agreeing to our terms of use regarding the storage of the data submitted through this form.

%d bloggers like this: