By Dean Lozarie

BUKLOD-CSSP retained its majority in the College of Social Sciences and Philosophy Student Council, taking the chairperson, vice-chairperson position and all eight council seats.

Juan Carlo “JC” Tejano won as chairperson with 741 votes, while Jose Emmanuel Micael “Mickey” Eva III won the vice chairperson position with 715 votes. Dan Christian “Dan” Ramos was also elected CSSP representative to the USC.

All eight councilor bets of BUKLOD-CSSP won, with Ginelle Petterson topping the list with 635 votes, followed by Pola Lia Celina Lamarca with 634 votes, Patricia Ysabel Alcantara with 624 votes and Raphael Carlo Brolagda with 602 votes.

Next in line were Virginia Mara Favis with 594 votes, Antonio Lapid with 525 votes, Joeric Emil Crescini with 520 votes and Camille Sta. Ana with 554 votes.

Saligan sa CSSP won two seats in the council. Earl Ramon Agulto won as Geography Department Representative with 71 votes and Agape Sem Comendador, who was running unopposed, won the Sociology Department Representative seat with 62 votes.

Six of BUKLOD-CSSP’s department representative candidates claimed victory. Lazaro Kevin Pabiona won the Anthropolgy Department Representative seat unopposed with 37 votes, Patricza Andrhea Torio won as History Department Representative with 46 votes and Jesse Angelica Atanacio won as Philosophy Department Representative with 44 votes.

Meanwhile, their Political Science Department Representative, Paolo Dominic Macariola ran unopposed and garnered 223 votes. Both Psychology Department Representatives come from BUKLOD-CSSP: Katrina Marie Cabigting and R-La Pudadera with 343 and 323 votes respectively.

The sole independent candidate, Dominique Samantha Dulay, won the Linguistics representative position.

As of 4:30 PM, the turnout at the Palma Hall precinct was 71 percent, while the turnout at the Palma Hall Annex (PHAN) precinct was 82 percent, according to the College Student Electoral Board (CSEB).

As of press time, no total turnout for the two precincts are available because the figures have not yet been combined.

Graduate students vote manually

The figures also exclude graduate students and non-majors because the college was not provided lists separating them from other students, College Secretary Josefina Andrea Cantiler said.

Meanwhile, a graduate student of the Archaeological Studies Program was allowed to submit her manual ballot at 6:15 p.m., after the polls had closed and the counting had begun. Her knowledge was that the polls would close at 7 p.m., Cantiler said.

All graduate students had to vote manually for college positions, including the CSSP representative to the USC.

UP Linux User’s Group (UnPLUG), the technical group for the university-wide automated elections, could not be reached for comment as of this writing.

On the other hand, two manual voters checked “abstain” along with the 11 USC councilors they voted for. However, their votes were still included.

Cantiler said the voters might have checked “abstain” because they did not want to vote for a twelfth councilor.

An UnPLUG representative said that if they voted using the online ballot, their votes for all USC councilor positions would have been invalidated.


Subscribe now to our newsletter

By checking this box, you confirm that you have read and are agreeing to our terms of use regarding the storage of the data submitted through this form.

%d bloggers like this: