CMC Student Council, AY 2009-2010

By Andrew Jonathan Bagaoisan and Mark Anthony Gubagaras
Tinig ng Plaridel /

CMC Student Council, AY 2009-2010
CMC Student Council, AY 2009-2010

The two competing parties at the College of Mass Communication will share seats in the next academic year’s student council, seven to six, in favor of the college chapter of the Student Alliance for the Advancement of Democratic Rights in UP (Stand-UP).

While rival party Interdependent Student-centered Activism (ISA) got the CMC representative to the USC post, top seats at the council went to Stand-UP.

CMC students elected incumbent council vice chair Rupert Francis Mangilit of Stand-UP as the new chair and his running mate Paula Bianca Lim as vice chair. Candidate Jihad Karlo Mariano won as council secretary.

ISA’s Jo Javan Cerda won as CMC representative to the USC, and Michelle Miranda as the new council treasurer.

The eight seats for department representatives were equally shared by the two parties. Representative bets of Stand-UP both won in the Journalism department, while ISA bagged both seats for Film Institute representatives.

The parties shared one representative each for the Broadcast Communication and Communication Research departments.

Stand-UP held the majority last year with eight seats, including the top posts from college representative to treasurer. Outgoing council chair Marian Kris Santos ran this year for USC councilor under Stand-UP but eventually lost.

The last time the CMC-SC had a similar party division was in 2007, when ISA first ran in the elections. ISA then held the top posts in the council with college representative Anne Kathleen Malolos and chair Karol Mark Yee.

Voter turnout this year was 57.22 percent, which edged last year’s 56.88 percent and 2007’s 55.96 percent. Data from the College Student Electoral Board showed 655 students voted out of the 1,144 population, with more than half of the voters coming from the Journalism and Broadcast Communication departments.

College of Mass Communication Student Council winners

CMC Representative to the USC:
Jo Javan Cerda, BA Journalism (ISA)
Rupert Francis Mangilit, BA Journalism (Stand-UP)
Vice Chairperson:
Paula Bianca Lim, BA Broadcast Communication (Stand-UP)
Jihad Karlo Mariano, BA Communication Research (Stand-UP)
Michelle Miranda, BA Communication Research (ISA)
Broadcast Communication Representatives:
Micaela Faeska Salonga (ISA)
Athena Keziah Chavez (Stand-UP)
Communication Research Representatives:
Claire Pantoja (ISA)
Michelin San Diego (Stand-UP)
Film Institute Representatives:
Grace Simbulan (ISA)
Thesa Tang (ISA)
Journalism Representatives:
Kelvin Paulino (Stand-UP)
Judy Ann Espiritu (Stand-UP)

Updated Feb 27 to correct last year’s turnout to 56.88%, not 55.96% -Ed


Subscribe now to our newsletter

By checking this box, you confirm that you have read and are agreeing to our terms of use regarding the storage of the data submitted through this form.

%d bloggers like this: