UP notches 7 individual awards to dominate UAAP football

The University of the Philippines (UP) Football Teams bagged a total of seven individual awards to go along with their podium finishes at the UAAP Season 86 Football Tournament.

With their recently-earned championship, the UP Men’s Football Team garnered five individual awards. Meanwhile, the bronze medalist UP Women’s Football Team claimed two solo trophies.

Read: State U wins 19th UAAP Men’s Football Championship

For the first time in six years, the UP Fighting Maroons claimed individual awards in the Men’s Football Tournament to go along with their championship.

UP Senior Forward Francis Tacardon was hailed as the Season 86 Most Valuable Player (MVP) and Best Striker after chalking in 7 goals and three assists throughout the season.

Team Captain Macky Tobias helmed the offensive formations of State U with great composure earning him the Best Midfielder Award. 

Tobias also scored the championship-winning penalty shot that gave UP their 19th title.

Ramil Bation III, the Maroon’s new blood that fuelled the team’s offensive firepower, won the Rookie of the Year honors. 

The super rookie was also co-awarded the Golden Boot trophy along with Ateneo’s Kofi Agye after tying for a league-high 9 goals throughout the elimination round.

UP Men’s Football Team jumps in celebration during the UAAP Season 86 Men’s Football Awarding Ceremony. Photo by Stephen Busico.

The last Fighting Maroons to win individual awards in the men’s division were former MVP and Best Defender Ian Clarino along with then Rookie of the Year Fidel Tacardon of the championship squad from UAAP Season 80.

The former Rookie of the Year awardee is the older brother of reigning MVP Francis and UP Forward Florenz Tacardon.

Meanwhile, the UP Women’s Football Team won two individual awards after capping off their season with a back-to-back third-place finish on May 4.

UP seniors Coline Acelo and Jennifer Baroin were given the Best Goalkeeper and Best Defender awards, respectively.

Both Acelo and Baroin were the first to receive back-to-back individual plums in the women’s division since DLSU star Tashka Lacson and FEU standout Hannah Pachejo’s repeat Best Goalkeeper and Best Defender awards, respectively, in Seasons 80 and 81

“I want to dedicate this achievement to my coaches, teammates, and to the UP community who never ceased to support and help us throughout the season, ” Acelo shared in an online interview with Tinig ng Plaridel. 

The defensive duo concluded their UAAP journey after succumbing to the DLSU Lady Booters in the semifinals

The UP Women’s Football Team has yet to recapture the UAAP championship they last claimed in Season 78.