by Celine Isabelle Samson

Seats are yet to be filled on this year’s College of Education’s Student Council (CESC) elections with only eight candidates vying for 12 available posts.

Student Alliance for the Advancement of Democratic Rights in UP (STAND UP) standard-bearers Eric Loyd Hilario and incumbent college Councilor Psalm Lemuel Guevarra run unopposed for the chairpersonship and vice-chairpersonship, respectively.

Four candidates from STAND UP are also running for the nine seats available for college councilors, an alternative to the more common department representatives.

Only the position of College of Education Representative to the University Student Council are being fought over by two candidates.

UP Alyansa ng mga Mag-aaral para sa Panlipunang Katwiran at Kaunlaran (ALYANSA)’s Joe Marie Yapcengco is up against CESC Councilor and STAND UP bet Kate Raca for the university-wide post.

Due to the lack of candidates running for office, incumbent CESC Chairperson Emmanueline Balgos and current Council Secretary Maria Vanessa Lusung-Oyzon expect a special Board of Representatives election to take place after the university-wide elections in order to fill the five seats for the local council.

Such was the case for the current Council’s vice chairperson, Natasha King, after nobody in the college ran for the position in the 2015 CESC elections.

Below is the partial and unofficial list of candidates for the College of Education:

Eric Loyd Hilario (STAND UP)

Psalm Lemuel Guevarra (STAND UP)

CEd Representative to the USC
Joe Marie Yapcengco (UP ALYANSA)
Kate Raca (STAND UP)

Tristan Lance Dacayo (STAND UP)
Erica Jandaloni (STAND UP)
Patricia Ruth Jasmin (STAND UP)
Jim Paolo Mendiola (STAND UP)


Subscribe now to our newsletter

By checking this box, you confirm that you have read and are agreeing to our terms of use regarding the storage of the data submitted through this form.

%d bloggers like this: