by Gene Paolo Gumagay

Independent candidates have risen to the challenge of serving the UP School of Statistics (UPSSS), clinching posts in this year’s UP School of Statistics Student Council (UPSSSC) elections.

Incumbent Finance Councilor Patrick Wincy Reyes will lead the Council as chairperson, garnering 214 votes, defeating incumbent Vice Chairperson Krizia Cleo Fowler who got 191 votes and the 33 students who voted abstain.

Joining her is current Council secretary and unopposed vice chairperson Patricia Anne Alarios who earned 316 votes against 16 abstain votes.

Meanwhile, UP Alyansa ng mga Mag-aaral para sa Panlipunang Katwiran at Kaunlaran’s (UP ALYANSA) James Alister Pangilinan got 357 votes against the 81 who abstained, making him the UPSSS representative to the University Student Council (USC).

All other positions have been competed for unopposed with all hopefuls winning outright.

Tierone James Santos got 308 votes against 130 abstains to win the finance councilor post while Rheymond Jimenez is the new marketing councilor with 262 votes against 176 abstains.

On the other hand, Keanu Roland Alfred Ramos is the new public relations councilor with 296 votes versus 142 abstains while Michael Joshua Ricaforte is next year’s media and publicity councilor winning 309 versus 192 abstains.

Spencer Espartero will handle the Secretariat in the next SSSC with 281 to 157 abstain votes, while Kate Malda is next year’s social consciousness councilor with 271 to 167 abstain votes.

Meanwhile, sophomore Statistics student Jerico Timan is the Council’s lone batch representative, winning 106 votes against 17 abstains after his opponent withdrew candidacy.

Updated: An earlier version of this published article indicated Fowler as the winner. It has been updated to place the correct UPSSSC chairperson-elect, Patrick Wincy Reyes.


Subscribe now to our newsletter

By checking this box, you confirm that you have read and are agreeing to our terms of use regarding the storage of the data submitted through this form.

%d bloggers like this: