by Pathricia Ann V. Roxas

BUKLOD CSSP’s eight-year domination over the College of Social Sciences and Philosophy Student Council (CSSPSC), is now challenged by rival party SALiGAN sa CSSP. The two political parties’ close fight secures 10 seats for BUKLOD and 8 for SALiGAN out of the 19 posts. Unrivaled BUKLOD standard bearer and incumbent CSSP councilor Clarisse Peralta is CSSPSC’s new chairperson.

Jamievee Bautista of SALiGAN, a party affiliated with the Student Alliance for the Advancement of Democratic Rights in UP (STAND UP), clinched the Vice Chair post, surpassing BUKLOD’s candidate Gabriela Sayon who is an incumbent councilor. BUKLOD is affiliated with the university-wide political party Alyansa ng mga Mag-aaral para sa Panlipunang Katwiran at Kaunlaran (UP ALYANSA).

Meanwhile, Lakan Umali ended STAND UP’s decade of loss for the CSSP representative to the University Student Council (USC) post, beating UP Alyansa’s Amer Madcasim Jr.

BUKLOD secured three out of seven councilor posts, while SALiGAN gained four. Allyson Michael Maraon of SALiGAN topped the councilor post, followed by BUKLOD’s Mariel Cunanan and Philippe Galban respectively.

Department representative candidates from Anthropology, Geography, History, Philosophy, Psychology and Sociology department won unopposed,  five of which from BUKLOD, and two from SALiGAN. Both Political Science and Linguistics department will also be led by representatives from BUKLOD.

On the other hand, unopposed and independent candidate John Carlo Katigbak is the new Philosophy department representative.

CSSP recorded a 57.5 percent voter turnout as 1,218 out of 2,118 registered voters cast their votes in the Palma Hall and Lagmay Hall computer laboratories. This year’s voter turnout is lower by 2.95 percent compared to last year’s 60.45 percent.

Below is the complete list of winners for the CSSPSC:

Clarisse Anne G. Peralta (BUKLOD CSSP)

Jamievee P. Bautista (SALIGAN sa CSSP)

CSSP Representative to the USC:
Lakan Umali (STAND UP)


  1. Allyson Michael Jude T. Maraon (SALIGAN sa CSSP)
  2. Mariel Louise D. Cunanan (BUKLOD CSSP)
  3. Philippe Jefferson A. Galban (BUKLOD CSSP)
  4. Lorenzo Miguel A. Relente (BUKLOD CSSP
  5. Maryam Hisham B. Casimiro (SALIGAN sa CSSP)
  6. Christine Faye S. Dumagan (SALIGAN sa CSSP)
  7. Hanceely Marxell M. Villa (SALIGAN sa CSSP)


Ileana Ysabel U. Cabochan (SALIGAN sa CSSP)

Kimberly R. Go Tian (BUKLOD CSSP)

Alexandra G. Mojica (BUKLOD CSSP)

Jan Irminelle P. Silva-llana (BUKLOD CSSP)

John Carlo L. Katigbak (Independent)

Ma. Regina Angelica S. Bagaforo (BUKLOD CSSP)

Patricia Kimberly D. Chua (BUKLOD CSSP)
Jon Alec S. Eclipse (BUKLOD CSSP)

Jenica Jae P. De Vera (SALIGAN sa CSSP)  


Subscribe now to our newsletter

By checking this box, you confirm that you have read and are agreeing to our terms of use regarding the storage of the data submitted through this form.

%d bloggers like this: