Unopposed STAND UP bets dominate CMC council elections

Student Alliance for the Advancement of Democratic Rights in UP (STAND UP) candidates from the College of Mass Communication (CMC) clinched all positions as they ran unopposed in the 2021 remote local student council elections.  

Incumbent Treasurer and Broadcast Communication Representative Ma. Kristine Joy Adriano won as Chairperson with 349 votes, while incumbent College Representative to the USC and Communication Research Representative Rafael Leandro Purisima will again take his seat as college representative after garnering 338 votes. 

John Gabriel Magtibay, former Vice Chairperson of the CMC Freshie, Shiftee, and Transferee Council in A.Y. 2019-2020, won the seat for Vice Chairperson with 331 votes. Meanwhile, Chase Johnbelle Ralutin won as Secretary with 288 votes. 

No student ran for the position of Treasurer.

This year, STAND UP CMC candidates ran on a platform advocating for press freedom, transparency in council initiatives and safe resumption of face to face classes, among others. 

Out of the 754 registered voters from the college, 401 or 53.18% students voted. This is higher than the 2019 turnout of 51.19% 

Here is the list of the newly elected CMC student council officers: 

Chairperson: Ma. Kristine Joy Adriano – 349 votes
Vice Chairperson: John Gabriel Magtibay – 331 votes
CMC Representative to the USC: Leandro Rafael Purisima – 338 votes
Secretary: Chase Johnbelle Ralutin – 288 votes

Broadcast Media Arts and Studies / Broadcast Communication Representatives: 
Samantha Chomi – 98 votes
Adryen Ulysses Gabriel – 97 votes

Communication Research Representative:
Daphnee Gail Ferrer – 54 votes

Film Representatives:
Shaira Gertos – 68 votes
Ivan Jon Gentolizo- 67 votes

Journalism Representatives:
Angel Dale Marie Yabut – 74 votes
Justin Peter Guzman – 63 votes

UP CMC Interdependent Student-centered Activism (ISA) did not field any candidates again for the second consecutive year, leaving STAND UP CMC unchallenged. The red party won 10 out of 12 council positions in 2019. 

READ: A 10-year split: which dep’ts voted for STAND UP CMC and CMC ISA candidates?

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.