ALYANSA dominates USC elections

By Melissa Luz Lopez

Alyansa ng mga Mag-aaral para sa Panlipunang Katwiran at Kaunlaran (ALYANSA) dominated this year’s University Student Council (USC) elections, winning the seat for Chairperson and clinching half of the 12 seats for councilors.

Heart Diño from ALYANSA won as USC chairperson, garnering a total of 3, 290 votes. Independent candidate Martin Loon came in second, followed by Student Alliance for the Advancement of Democratic Rights in UP (STAND UP) candidate Aman Melad and Nagkakaisang Iskolar para sa Pamantasan at Sambayanan (KAISA) candidate Shaina Santiago.

KAISA candidate for vice chairperson Alex Castro gained 3, 938 votes and bested candidates Ace Ligsay from ALYANSA and Aya Escandor from STAND UP.
ALYANSA candidate Revee Rapallo topped the list of USC councilors, garnering 4, 031 votes. Five other councilors came from ALYANSA while KAISA and STAND UP each won three seats.

Of the 20 seats for college representatives to the USC, seven came from STAND UP. ALYANSA and KAISA got six seats each while independent candidate Nikole Ma. Nimfra Alicer won as National College for Public Administration and Governance representative.

The University Student Electoral Board recorded a voter turnout of 48.91 percent, a slight increase from last year’s 48.6 percent. Of the 23, 197 student population, only 11, 345 students voted on March 1.

University Student Council Election Results
Heart Diño of Alyansa – 3290 votes
Martin Loon as Independent – 2743 votes
Amancio Melad III of STAND UP – 2218 votes
Shaina Santiago of KAISA – 1900 votes
Abstain – 1201 votes

Vice Chairperson
Alex Castro of KAISA – 3938 votes
Ace Ligsay of Alyansa – 3064 votes
Soraya Escandor of STAND UP – 2928 votes
Abstain – 1422 votes

USC Councilors
Revee Rapallo of Alyansa – 4031 votes
Pat Bringas of Alyansa – 3714 votes
Mijo Solis of STAND UP – 3654 votes
Jules Guiang of KAISA – 3629 votes
Carlos Clement of KAISA – 3513 votes
Alex Santos of Alyansa – 3257 votes
Yanna Canacan of STAND UP – 3044 votes
Jio Guiang of STAND UP – 3041 votes
Reg Punzalan of KAISA – 3021 votes
Sol Vicencio of Alyansa – 2887 votes
Maan Espinosa of Alyansa – 2878 votes
Lucho Ayala of Alyansa – 2861 votes

College representatives to the USC

Joeric Emil “Joeric” Crescini (CSSP) – 683 votes
Jonas Miguelito “Jonas” Cruz (CBA) – 575 votes
Christopher “Chris” Omega (Educ) – 191 votes
Patricia Erika “Pats” Poblador (Music) – 113 votes
Ma. Christina “Tina” Reyes (Law) – 413 votes
Stephen Jun “Poks” Villejo (Stat) – 209 votes

Nikole Ma. Nimfra Alicer (NCPAG) – 170 votes

Erika Mary “Erika” Erro (AIT) – 177 votes
Sara Zemirah “Sara”Go (CFA) – 87 votes
Carla Monica “Carla” Gonzalez (CHE) – 370 votes
Gayle Krystle “Gayle” Grey (CHK) – 194 votes
Serene Ezra “Ren” Bondad (CS) – 443 votes
Justin Alfred “Jap” Palino (Eng’g) – 1541 votes

Peter Dominique“Peter” Paredes (Archi) – 261 votes
Eduardo “Eds” Gabral (CAL) – 349 votes
Enrico “Miko” Gloria (Econ) – 272 votes
Roscelle “Cel” Cruz (SLIS) – 82 votes
Rejiel “Rage” Gonzales (Eng’g) – 1158 votes
Sarah Isabelle “Sarah” Torres (CMC) – 323 votes
Mark Joseph “Marky” Tagala (CSWCD) – 90 votes

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.