Bagro, Cadiogan to lead new USC

By the TNP News Team

University Student Council 2008-2009

Herminio “Third” Bagro and Airah Cadiogan will lead the incoming University Student Council (USC) in time for the celebration of the UP Centennial after winning as chair and vice chair, respectively, in the elections held March 4.

The standard bearer of the Alyansa ng mga Mag-aaral para sa Panlipunang Katwiran at Kaunlaran (ALYANSA), Bagro won with 3,570 votes against Stephanie Marie “Steph” Tan of the Nagkakaisang Iskolar para sa Pamantasan at Sambayanan (KAISA) with 2,910 votes, and Jerrie Abella of the Student Alliance for the Advancement of Democratic Rights in UP (STAND-UP) with 2,900 votes.

Bagro, a Law student, is an incumbent USC councilor, while Tan is the outgoing chair of the College of Social Sciences Philosophy Student Council.

Abella is the current editor-in-chief of the Philippine Collegian, UP Diliman’s official student publication. Abella filed a leave of absence from the publication prior to his candidacy.

In the race for vice chair, STAND-UP’s Cadiogan, a senior Communication Research student, won with 3,304 votes, besting KAISA’s Titus Tan, chair of the College of Science Student Council, with 3,222, and ALYANSA’s Marian Angelica Panganiban, representative of the School of Economics to the USC, with 2,757.

Seven out of the 12 elective seats for councilor also went to STAND-UP. They are Victor Lorenzo “Bikoy” Villanueva (rank 1 with 3,822 votes), Rose Angelique “Bang” Dizon (rank 2 with 3,229 votes), Fahima “Fudge” Tajar (rank 3 with 3,201 votes), Nemesio “Nem” Cañete (rank 7 with 2,928 votes), Mico Angelo “Mico” Maestro (rank 8 with 2,901 votes), Jacqueline Joy “Jaque” Eroles (rank 9 with 2,887 votes), and Mikhail Lennin “Mik” Bueno (rank 10 with 2,853 votes).

Four of ALYANSA’s candidates made it as USC councilors-elect: Sherry Mae “Sherry” Tismal (rank 4 with 3,079 votes), Stephen Larcia (rank 6 with 2,943 votes), Joseph Miguel “Joseph” Gutierrez (2,717 votes), and Beverly “Bevs” Lumbera (rank 12 with 2,643 votes).

Completing the list is independent candidate Lauryel “Rye” Castillo, who ranked fifth among the 12 winners.

Based on the tally of the University Student Electoral Board (USEB), 10,158 out of 22,148 students in UP Diliman cast their votes this year, translating to a 45.91 per cent voter turnout, a slight rise from last year’s 42%.

While most of the candidates were already declared winners, pending proclamation is the winner in the race for representative of the College of Social Work and Community Development to the USC. STAND-UP’s Ma. Carmela Julita Lagang and independent candidate Angelo Hernan Melencio both garnered 60 votes.

USEB Chair and Vice Chancellor for Student Affairs Elizabeth Enriquez said the board will determine today the procedure on how to determine who between Lagang and Melencio will represent the college in the USC.

Author: TNP

The Official Student Publication of the UP College of Mass Communication.

  • Skyblue_17

    Go USC! Don’t let differences in principles interfere with your responsibility as student council leaders. We look up to you that you will give respect to the mandate the students have given you. Huwag maging pasaway! maglingkod sa kapwa iskolar ng/para sa bayan para sa ikabubuti ng ating sambayanan!

    Third and Airah, the challenge is now with you guys to make USC one! Goodluck and I know, I firmly believe you, together with the other council members, will work as professionals in this council.

    GO Incoming Centennial USC!!!

  • Marco Reyes

    nagsalita na ang mga estudyante. alam na kung sino ang dapat na nasa posisyon. pero hindi lahat ng mga desisyon natin sa simula ay tama. tamang pagkilos lang ang makakapagpatama nito.
    stand up for your rights.

  • sucks_to_be_you

    Unity is overrated.

  • sucks_to_be_you

    Take back the campus !
    Punish the Pro-TOFI parasites – KAYO ang korapsyon !